Security Officer Training

The Criminal Justice Institute at Indian River State College is a licensed site for Security Officer training. We have some of the finest facilities in the country for criminal justice training. Our school’s cadre includes experienced nuclear plant security officers as well as active and retired law enforcement officers. The Institute offers several Private Security Officer – “Class "D” courses each year.

Private Security Officer - Class "D”

A security officer is any individual engaged in the business of furnishing security services such as bodyguard, property security officer, and armored car security officer. The student is required to complete the 40-hour training course and obtain the Class "D” Security Officer License through the Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. The cost of the training is $107.40.

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing, licenses and regulates the private security industry in accordance with Chapter 493, Florida Statutes. The private security industry is regulated to ensure the interests of the public are adequately served and protected.  Below is an excerpt of the licensing process for your convenience.


To become licensed you must be at least 18 years of age.  You must be a citizen or legal resident alien of the United States, or have been granted authority to work in this country by the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

The Department will deny your application if you:

  1. Have been convicted of a felony in any state or of a crime against the United States, which is designated as a felony, or convicted of an offense in any other state, territory, or country punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year, unless and until Civil Rights have been restored and a period of 10 years has passed since final release from supervision [s.493.6118 (4), F. S.].
  2. Are currently serving a suspended sentence on a felony charge or on probation for a felony charge [s.493.6118(4), F. S.].

 The Department may deny your application if you:

  1. Have a history of being arrested for crimes of violence and/or found guilty of (or had adjudication withheld for) directly related crimes. This includes, but is not limited to: Trespassing, Breaking and Entering, Burglary, Robbery, Forgery, Criminal Mischief or Theft, Assault, Battery, Stalking, Aggravated Battery, Aggravated Assault, Sexual Battery, Kidnapping, Armed Robbery, Murder, Aggravated Stalking, Resisting an Officer with Violence [Section 493.6118(1)(c), Section 493.6118(1)(j), Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
  2. Have demonstrated a lack of respect for the laws of this state and the nation [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
  3. Have an outstanding bench warrant or capias [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
  4. Are currently in a Pre-Trial Intervention or Deferred Prosecution Program [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].

For more information regarding the licensing process after completing our Private Security Officer - Class "D” course, go to

If you have any questions, please e-mail Darren Mingear at